Bach: Morimur
The Hilliard Ensemble : discography

ECM New Series 1765

Playing time: 61'42

Recorded September 2000
Monastery of St. Gerold, Austria


Bach: Morimur

Partita d-Moll BWV 1004 für Violine solo / Choräle

Christoph Poppen / The Hilliard Ensemble


 1.  Auf meinen lieben Gott [2:04] 
 2.  Den Tod... [0:26] 
 3.  Allemanda [4:11] 
 4.  Christ lag in Todesbanden [1:29] 
 5.  Corrente [2:48] 
 6.  Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt [1:31] 
 7.  Sarabanda [4:00] 
 8.  Wo soll ich fliehen hin [0:51] 
 9.  Giga [4:19] 
 10.  Den Tod... [0:29] 
 11.  Ciaccona [14:22] 
 12.  Christ lag in Todesbanden [2:17] 
 13.  Dein Will gescheh' [0:54] 
 14.  Befiehl Du Deine Wege [1:24] 
 15.  Jesu meine Freude [1:06] 
 16.  Auf meinen lieben Gott [0:48] 
 17.  Jesu Deine Passion [1:08] 
 18.  In meines Herzens Grunde [0:52] 
 19.  Nun lob', mein Seel', den Herren 
 20.  Den Tod... [0:26] 
 21.  Ciaccona
für Violine solo und vier Stimmen
nach einer Analyse von Helga Thoene 
 22.  Den Tod... [0:30] 


Christoph Poppen, baroque violin
Monika Mauch, soprano
David James, countertenor
John Potter, tenor
Gordon Jones, baritone


In music of the baroque era it was popular to use the medium of numbers for conveying secrets and riddles, and Bach studies have illuminated many new "meanings" in his sacred works. Now "Morimur" explores the coded references, and hidden messages in his solo violin music, opening a window on Bach's thought at a time when he was deeply affected by the sudden and tragic death of his wife, Maria Barbara, in 1720. Building on the research of Professor Helga Thoene, violinist Christoph Poppen and the Hilliard Ensemble have realised a unique project for ECM New Series: They offer a stunning experience by interweaving the verses of the "hidden chorales" of the Ciaccona with Bach's harmonically complex violin part.