For Ockeghem
Rogers Covey-Crump : discography

Hilliard Live HL 1002

Playing time: 73'54

Recorded by BBC Radio 3 in Saint Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead Garden Suburb (11 September 1996) and first broadcast on 5 February 1997, the eve of the 500th anniversary of the death of Johannes Ockeghem


For Ockeghem

The Hilliard Ensemble


 1.  Kyrie and Gloria (Missa Mi-Mi) (Ockeghem) [7:10] 
 2.  Cruel death... (Crétin) [2:34] 
 3.  In Hydraulis (Busnois) [7:49] 
 4.  After this sweet harmony... (Crétin) [1:30] 
 5.  Credo (Missa De plus en plus) (Ockeghem) [9:44] 
 6.  Then arose King David the psalmist... (Crétin) [1:45] 
 7.  Omnium bonorum plena (Compère) [10:41] 
 8.  Chiron the Centaur came up from Thessaly... (Crétin) [2:41] 
 9.  Sanctus (Missa Caput) (Ockeghem) [7:17] 
 10.  Then the very doleful Lady Music... (Crétin) [3:43] 
 11.  Ergone conticuit (Lupi) [7:52] 
 12.  I call him Doctor in the science of music... (Crétin) [4:57] 
 13.  Agnus Dei (Missa Prolationum) (Ockeghem) [6:11] 


David James, countertenor
Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor
John Potter, tenor
Gordon Jones, baritone

Bob Peck, reader


A concert given in association with BBC Radio 3 to mark the 500th anniversary of the death of Ockeghem.

Interpersed with the music are parts of Guillaume Crétin's "Lament on the Death of the Late Ockeghem, Treasurer of Saint Martin of Tours", in a specially commissioned translation by Virginia Rounding, read by Bob Peck.