Sacred and Secular Music from six centuries
Rogers Covey-Crump : discography

Hyperion CDA66370

Playing time: 62'00

Recorded on 30, 31 March 1987 at St John-at-Hackney, London and on 22 February 1989 at St Jude's-on-the-Hill, London


Sacred and Secular Music from six centuries

The Hilliard Ensemble


 1.  Salve regina (Hermannus Contractus) [3:18] 
 2.  Planctus ante nescia (Godefroy de St Victoire) [8:16] 
 3.  Quant je sui mis (Guillaume de Machaut) [1:36] 
 4.  Vergene bella (Guillaume Dufay) [4:11] 
 5.  Gloria ad modem tubae (Guillaume Dufay) [2:00] 
 6.  Most clear of colour (Robert Fayrfax) [2:16] 
 7.  O nata lux (Thomas Tallis) [1:54] 
 8.  Ne irascaris Domine / Civitas sancti tui (William Byrd) [9:16] 
 9.  Dezí, flor rresplandeçiente (Anonymous) [1:58] 
 10.  Nuevas, nuevas – ¡Por tu fe! (Anonymous) [0:36] 
 11.  Sancta mater (Francisco de Peñalosa) [3:54] 
 12.  El jubilate (Matteo Flecha) [6:03] 
 13.  Tota pulcra es (Heinrich Isaac) [7:50] 
 14.  Bon jour mon coeur (Claude Goudimel) [1:25] 
 15.  Le chant des oiseaulx (Clement Janequin) [6:12] 


David James, countertenor
Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor
John Potter, tenor
Paul Hillier, baritone
Michael George, bass


"WHEREAS most of our recordings have been designed around a particular composer or collection of music, this disc is content simply to offer The Hilliard Ensemble 'in recital', and presents a mixed programme of early vocal music - including many of the group's favourite pieces."


'Something no lover of early music or admirer of this group should miss' (American Record Guide)

'Music making of the highest order. Everything shows them at their superb best'

'Superbly engineered' (Classic CD)